Field Notes: International Society for the Study of Religion, Nature and Culture Announcements


*   Call for Nominations: ISSRNC Lifetime Achievement Award.

*   Registration for the ISSRNC 2016 Conference Religion, Science and the Future, now open

*   Prize for Best Student Conference Paper, Religion, Science and the Future.

Call for Nominations: ISSRNC Lifetime achievement award.

Deadline October 15, 2015.

The International Society for the Study of Religion, Nature and Culture (ISSRNC) announces the ISSRNC Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to the study of religion, nature and culture. The award goes to those whose work has a relevance and eloquence that speaks, not just to scholars, but more broadly to the public and to multiple disciplines as well. The contribution can be any medium (e.g., books, films, TV, public speaking), so long as it is based on scholarship about religion, nature and culture.

Nominees need not be ISSRNC members. The ISSRNC Lifetime Achievement Award will be given at the ISSRNC’s 10th anniversary conference, January 14-17, 2016 at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida. The award winner will be expected to appear in a plenary session at the meeting, which will feature an interview with the scholar about his/her/their achievements in the study of religion, nature and culture.

Nominations should be sent to [email protected] by October 15, 2015. Please include a curriculum vitae and a letter of nomination of no more than two pages summarizing the nominee’s merit and fit for this award.

Registration for Religion Science and the Future is now open.

Featured speakers:

Baird Callicott, Environmental Philosopher

Daniel Deudney, Political Theorist

David Sloan Wilson, Evolutionary Biologist

Winona LaDuke, Anishinaabe scholar/activist

Kocku von Stuckrad, Religion Scholar

Tim LeCain, Environmental Historian

Graham Harvey, Religion Scholar

Kyle Powls Whyte, Potawatomi Philosopher

Robin Kimmerer, Botanist and Anishinaabe Philosopher

Jace Weaver, Cherokee Religion and Law

Bron Taylor, Religion and Nature Scholar

Ailton Krenak, Brazilian Indigeous Nations leader

Emma Tomalin, Asian Religion Scholar

Ursula Goodenough, Botanist

Elaine Howard Ecklund, Sociologist

Lisa Sideris, Religious Ethicist

Islam and Environment Scholar İbrahim Özdemir

ISSRNC Award for the Best Student Conference Paper. (PDF)

Students are invited to submit their ISSRNC conference paper (or a longer version, not to exceed 5,000 words) to be considered for the Award for the Best Student Conference Paper.

Submissions should include two documents. The first document should include: Title, Name of Participant, contact information for participant, and a 150-word abstract. The second document should include: Title and the full text of the conference presentation, or a longer version not to exceed 5,000 words. No names or contact information on the second document.

Please submit the attached documents in a commonly used format such as word, rtf, pages, or pdf, to [email protected] by 1 November 2015. Papers will be anonymously reviewed by a committee of ISSRNC board members.

The winner will receive $500 and be honored at the conference.

This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *